Murder, attempted murder, and manslaughter are three of the most serious charges anyone can face. Getting arrested for any of these crimes may seem like you’re fighting a lost cause. Regardless of the charges, it is always worth fighting and protecting your rights. The criminal defense lawyers at Crescent City Law are prepared to take your case and fight to get your charges reduced or dropped if you or a loved one is arrested for murder, attempted murder, or manslaughter. Contact Us Today.
Murder and attempted murder are serious charges, potentially resulting in life in prison or even the death penalty. Murder is known as the unlawful taking of someone’s life while attempted murder is unsuccessfully trying to take someone’s life. For example, someone can be charged with attempted murder by harming someone, like shooting or stabbing, and the victim survives.
When it comes to murder charges, there are three variations for which someone can be charged. First-degree murder, or pre-meditated murder, is when someone kills another person after planning or waiting (laying in wait) to kill the victim. Second-degree murder is classified as a killing that is not premeditated, but the accused allegedly intended to inflict serious harm to the victim. Third-degree murder is considered as the act of intending to cause serious harm to the victim, but not necessarily death.
Attempted murder charges are also classified in degrees. First-degree attempted murder is premeditated, but the victim survives the act. The potential consequences of a conviction for first-degree attempted murder can be life in prison. Second degree-attempted murder is not pre-meditated and a conviction could result in 5 to 15 years of prison.
A situation could be made worse if the investigators believe that the murder or attempted murder was committed in conjunction with another crime like robbery. The attorneys at Crescent City Law will fight against any additional charges, as well as minimizing the consequences of the main charge. We will always fight to get charges reduced or dropped.
If you or a loved one is charged with murder or attempted murder, it is imperative that you contact a skilled criminal defense attorney to start fighting for you immediately. Remember, you have the right to remain silent; use it.
Manslaughter is considered to be a killing that is not planned or premeditated and is committed immediately after the alleged offender was someway provoked. However, this charge can be increased to a murder charge if a jury decides that the alleged offender had time to “cool off” before attacking the victim.
A vehicular homicide charge is typically when the operator of a vehicle kills another person due to reckless manner or negligence. As a result, the accused could receive 3 to 30 years in prison and between $2,000 and $15,000 in fines. In Louisiana, a person can be charged with vehicular homicide even if the accused was not operating a car. For example, vehicular homicide charges can be applied to boats, aircrafts, bicycles, etc. In Louisiana, a person can only be charged with vehicular homicide or vehicular manslaughter if the operator was under the influenced of alcohol or drugs. Many times, a vehicular homicide charge is in addition to a DUI or DWI charge.
A negligent homicide charge is not considered as serious as homicide or manslaughter charges, but the potential consequences can still be life changing. A person is charged with negligent homicide if he or she killed someone through some form of criminal negligence. In Louisiana, a person will only be charged with negligent homicide if he or she allegedly caused a homicide while in the act of committing a crime. If convicted, the accused could receive up to five years in prison.
Manslaughter, vehicular homicide, and negligent homicide charges may seem overwhelming. This makes it incredibly important to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. If you or a loved one is charged with manslaughter, vehicular homicide, or negligent homicide, contact Crescent City Law. Remember, you have the right to remain silent; use it.
The attorneys at Crescent City Law have experience, history of success, and resources to aggressively fight for you. Remember, we always fight to have your charges reduced or dropped. Contact us today by filling out a form or calling us at 504-264-9294 for a FREE consultation.
Contact us today to arrange a free consultation. Evening, weekend and offsite meetings are available by appointment.