Skip to main content

What can happen in a New Orleans DUI case?

Driving under the influence (or Operating a vehicle while intoxicated, as it’s officially called)  is a serious offense in Louisiana. New Orleans is famous for its alcohol, and unfortunately, the reality is that thousands of drivers are arrested for drunk driving and alcohol-related traffic offenses every year.

But just because you’ve been arrested for a DUI doesn’t mean that all hope is lost. With the help of an experienced DUI lawyer, there are a number of different defenses you can mount.

From our team of dedicated criminal defense attorneys at Crescent City Law, read on to learn more about the different possible outcomes of a DUI charge.

Penalties for a DUI in Louisiana

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) are two common terms for this offense. The official term under Louisiana law is “Operating a vehicle While Intoxicated (OWI), but they all refer to the same thing.

The penalties you might face for a DUI charge in Louisiana depend on how many times you’ve been charged before.

  • A first-time offense carries jail time of 10 days to 6 months and a fine of $300 to $1,000. First-time DUIs are considered a misdemeanor and don’t always result in the maximum penalty.
  • A second-time offense carries jail time of 30 days to 6 months and a fine of $750 to $1,000. For a second-time offense, you’re much more likely to be facing jail time.
  • A third-time offense is generally considered a felony and carries 1 to 5 years in jail and a fine of $2,000 dollars.
  • A fourth or higher offense carries a minimum of 10 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

The consequences of a DUI conviction are serious – not just because of the legal penalties, but also because of the impact that these penalties can have on your career, your education, or your life. But the good news is that, with an experienced DUI lawyer, these consequences are not a foregone conclusion.

Getting Your Case Dismissed

Field sobriety and breathalyzer tests are notoriously unreliable, and the reality is that law enforcement officers frequently make mistakes. By proving that the police or the court system did not follow the rules, our lawyers are frequently able to have DUI charges dismissed altogether.

Here are a few common reasons DUIs are dismissed:

  • No reasonable or articulate basis for law enforcement to have stopped you or your vehicle
  • Poorly maintained equipment
  • Other sobriety test mistakes
  • Failure to issue your Miranda Rights at the initial stop
  • Procedural issues, including missing paperwork or mistakes in reporting
  • Failure to provide a “speedy trial”
  • No witness testimony from the arresting officer, if they fail to appear in court

At Crescent City Law, we scour every DUI police report for mistakes, and we do not let the law get away with cutting any corners.

Contact Crescent City Law today

Regardless of the specifics of your case, the most important thing you can do in the face of a DUI charge is to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer. At Crescent City Law, we know the New Orleans legal system inside out– and we’re prepared to do whatever it takes to protect your future. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.

Skip to content