Skip to main content
Weapons Charges

Louisiana Gun Laws 2024: What You Need To Know

As long as you have a permit, you’re legally entitled to have a gun in the state of Louisiana. However, that does not mean that you can carry or use your gun anywhere throughout the state.

Understanding Louisiana gun law is important to keep yourself and your community safe, and to avoid fines, prison time, or losing your permit.

The weapons charge defense attorneys at Crescent City Law are here to help you understand the complexities of Louisiana gun law in 2024.

Getting a permit to carry a gun in Louisiana

According to Section 1379.3 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, any resident of Louisiana older than the age of 21 can apply for a concealed weapon permit. 

However, there are some restrictions.

  • You cannot have any past felony, domestic violence convictions or drug and alcohol problems.
    • However, you may be eligible for apply if your record has been expunged.
  • You may apply if you have been convicted of misdemeanors, but the state may turn you down depending on the nature of the conviction and the rest of your history.
  • The permit does apply to handguns, but does not apply to shotguns, rifles, knives, or other dangerous weapons. 
  • While you cannot conceal carry until you’re at least 21, you may get a permit to open carry your gun as early as 18. 

Additionally, there are two types of concealed carry permits in Louisiana: a 5-year permit and a lifetime permit. To qualify for either, you must be a resident of Louisiana over the age of 21 and fulfill the other qualifications above.

Where you can and cannot carry your firearm in Louisiana

Even if you have a permit to carry a firearm in Louisiana, you cannot bring it everywhere. To avoid getting arrested on a weapons charge, it’s important to know where you can and cannot bring your gun.

Where you can carry your firearm in Louisiana

In Louisiana, here are some of the places where you can conceal or open carry your gun.

However, if any location explicitly states that you cannot carry a firearm there, that overrules this list.

  • State parks and national forests
  • Roadside rest areas
  • Your vehicle
  • Any part of the state other than what is listed in the following section, or where it is not explicitly stated that you cannot carry a gun

Where you cannot carry your firearm in Louisiana

Here is a list of places where it is illegal for you to carry a gun in the state of Louisiana. You must obey these laws, or risk heavy fines or jail time

In Louisiana, you may not carry your firearm in:

  • Any property belonging to law enforcement
  • Detention facilities, prisons, and jails
  • Courthouses or courtrooms
  • The Louisiana state capitol
  • Government property
  • Airports
  • Places of worship
  • Permitted parades or demonstrations
  • Bars (including the bar section of a restaurant)
  • Places that sell alcoholic beverages
  • Schools and school zones
  • Any place where guns are prohibited by federal law

Other Louisiana gun laws that you should know

Here are the last details that you should know to legally carry a gun in Louisiana.

Louisiana open carry laws

You may legally open carry in Louisiana at the age of 18, and you cannot conceal carry until 21. 

While there is state law that allows open carry at a younger age, it is overridden by the federal law that requires you be at least 18 years old.

You must notify law enforcement if there is a firearm in your vehicle

According to Louisiana law, you must tell a police officer approaching your vehicle that there is a gun present. The intent of this law is to keep both the police officer and you safe.

You should have your permit with you to prove that you are legally allowed to be carrying your firearm at that moment.

You must respect “No Weapons” signs

Private landowners have the right to put up “no weapons” signs on their property, which you must obey.

So when you see a “no weapons” sign on a business or property, you cannot bring your firearm on the premises, even if you have a concealed carry permit. These laws are strictly enforced, and failure to abide by these signs can come with heavy consequences, such as fines, jail time, or losing your permit. 

Contact a weapons charge lawyer in at Crescent City Law Today

John Radziewicz of Crescent City Law has years of experience with Louisiana gun laws and weapons charges. If you’re facing a weapons charge in New Orleans or Louisiana, John is a dedicated attorney who’s here to help. 

Contact John today to schedule your free initial consultation.

Skip to content